refining sounds

small daily habits

Parallelization - converting a 2 hour job that runs on a single thread / single core process to a multi-thread / multi-core execution has an instantaneous benefit to performance.

But how do I parallelize in life? I can't spawn multiple threads, nor can I provision new machines. There is no other choice to be here and now. Life is ultimately a single thread experience. But there are people who we know - they do so much with so little. They look like they have 5 hands and 8 days in a week.

One secret could be iterative compounding. Iterative compounding adds incremental value additions into a compounding habit.

Money is an easy way to understand it ->
first iteration -> I put 100 bucks to a investment scheme.
second iteration -> The returns received are invested back.
third iteration -> I put 100 bucks every month.
fourth iteration -> I get a raise and increase the investment amount.
continue...

The investment itself is compounding and each iteration I adjust to increase the investment amount. Progressive overload, in body building is based on same principles.

While money is an easy example to understand iterative compounding, it is a bad demonstration for the true value of iterative compounding in life.

Iterative Compounding x habit => multi-processing

Reading -> Books, news aggregators, newsletters, blogs, articles. They add up to increase my knowledge and exposure about the ecosystem as a whole. Iterative Compounding

Gardening -> I start off with a bare garden, cleaning up the weeds and fertilizing the soil. Plant a few trees, take care for them - they start growing. Keep planting new trees -> soon enough I have a lush green backyard forest. Iterative Compounding.

Health -> eating right - in both quantity and quality. Exercising, getting rest, maintaining cleanliness. Adding day to day regular habits that enhance my well being. Iterative Compounding.

Developer Tooling and Automation -> I start with what's in-front of me - base layer basic automation. Slowly add layers and an entire developer ecosystem sprouts. Software compounds quite fast.

Life is ultimately a single thread experience - I can live only in the here and now. To be completely focused and engaged in the here and now, small-daily-habits could evolve it to a multi thread experience!